The World Bank has just announced its master’s scholarships program for students from selected developing countries for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The World Bank scholarships program provides funding for international students to continue their studies in one of 35 participating programs at universities in the United States, UK, Netherlands, Australia, Japan and France in key development areas.


The following countries are eligible for the World Bank scholarships for the 2022-2023 academic year:

Africa :

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, DR Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Morocco, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Asia :

Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Fiji, Honduras, Iraq, IndiaIndonesiaLebanon, Myanmar, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Palestine, Pakistan, Philippines, Syrian Arab Republic, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen.

Europe :

Ukraine, Kosovo.


Belize, Bolivia, Dominique, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Venezuela.


World Bank scholarships provide the following benefits to the recipient:

  • Round-trip airfare between your home country and the host university.
  • In addition to airfare, a travel allowance of US$500 for each trip.
  • Tuition waiver.
  • Basic medical coverage.
  • On-campus housing.
  • A monthly stipend, the amount of which varies depending on the host country.


As we informed you a month ago, it is worth mentioning that you should apply separately to one of these six master’s programs on their official website of the respective university and be admitted to be considered for the scholarship. If you missed our article, we advise you to apply now for a master’s program at a university listed in the second call. This way, you will be eligible to participate in the second application period.


The applicant must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Be a national of a World Bank member country (listed above).
  • Not be a dual national of a developed country.
  • Not be a staff member of the World Bank and not be a close relative.
  • Have an undergraduate degree (or equivalent university degree) obtained at least three years before the application deadline.
  • Have at least three years of paid development-related employment. The only exception to this criterion is for nationals of developing countries that are on the list of Fragile and Conflict States (see list below). In these exceptional cases, limited employment opportunities in the listed countries will be taken into consideration.
  • On or before the application deadline, have been unconditionally admitted to one of the participating master’s programs (listed above).

The applicant must have a degree or work related to one of the following areas:

  • Finance, competitiveness, and innovation
  • Governance
  • Macroeconomics, trade, and investment
  • Poverty reduction and equity/shared prosperity
  • Education
  • Health, nutrition, and population
  • Social protection and employment
  • Agriculture and food
  • Climate change
  • Environment and natural resources
  • Social, urban, rural and resilience
  • Water
  • Energy and extractive
  • Infrastructure
  • Development in a context of fragility, conflict, and violence

The following countries are considered fragile and conflict states (and therefore exempt from point (5) of the eligibility criteria): Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, CongoDR Congo, Eritrea, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iraq, Kiribati, Kosovo, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Mali, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, NigerNigeria, New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Venezuela, Palestine, Yemen, Zimbabwe.


Comments are closed.